English Speaking Countries


English Speaking Countries
English sdivad all over the world. Great Britain, the USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand are English speaking countries. Why English is so extended language in the world?
During the 17th and 18th centuries British navigators sailed across the seas with the aim of extending Britain’s power and prosperity (процветание). They colonized new territories around the world, taking their language with them. The first New World settlement was established in Jamestown in America in 1607. Canada was won from the French in 1763. During the 17th century British rule was established in the West Indian islands of Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica, St Kitts and Trinidad and Tobago. Australia and New Zealand were discovered during Capitan Cook’s voyage in 1768. English was imposed as the official language of the new colonies; it was the language of education and administration.
English speaking countries are situated in different parts of the world and differ in many ways. The weather and climate of these countries, and the way of people’s life differ. Each country has its own history customs, traditions, and its own national holidays. But they all have a common English language.
The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland consist of 4 parts: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. There are no high mountains, no very long rivers, no vast forest areas in U.K. Great Britain is parliamentary monarchy. Englishmen are proud of their traditions and carefully keep them up. Christmas day is one of their favorite holidays. It's celebrated on the 25-th of December. Traditions connected with it are to give divsents to each other, to send Christmas cards and to make traditional Christmas dinner with turkey and pudding.
The USA is situated in the central part of the North American continent. The population of the USA is about 240 million people. Most of Americans speak English. But there we can also meet French, German and other languages. The USA is a highly developed industrial country.
Canada has to official languages – English and French.
Australia and New Zealand Australia and New Zealand are situated in the southern hemisphere summer, so the warmest month is January, and the coldest winter month is June. Snow falls only on the mountain there. Many immigrants from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland live in Australia and New Zealand.
Додати в блог або на сайт

Цей текст може містити помилки.

Foreign Languages and Linguistics | Topic
5кб. | download | скачати

Related works:
Holidays and traditions in english-speaking countries
An English Speaking Country New Zealand
Famous journalists of the English speaking country Benjamin Franklin
Persuasive Speaking
Public Speaking
Public Speaking
Abraham Lincoln Is Speaking
The Countries That Were Hardest Hit In
Less Developed Countries
© Усі права захищені
написати до нас